Stamp Show

This page illustrates some of the WESTPEX 2017 awards available to the judges to award to the winning exhibits.

Each year WESTPEX presents specially chosen awards for the Grand Award, Reserve Grand, Don Dretzke Memorial Award, Chairman's Award, and California Collectors Club Award.


Grand Award 2017

Hand painted wood box

Reserve Grand Award 2017 sponsored by Collectors Club of San Francisco

Wenge and walnut wood box

Grand Award 2017 for Single-Frame Exhibits

Exotic wood ikebana vessel

Don Dretzke Memorial Award 2017

Moon Jellies Glass Paper Weight

for Best Exhibit of "Used" Stamps

WESTPEX Chairman's Award 2017

Antique stamp box

California Collectors Club Award 2017

Egyptian Mother of Pearl Keepsake Box

Margaret Munda Award of  Merit

San Francisco Pacific Philatelic  Society

Clock  and compass



SESCAL Award 2017

Lenox Rose Vase

Al Van Dahl Memorial Award 2017

Lily of the Valley Retro Vase

for best Scandinavian exhibit

WESTPEX Gold medal.

The WESTPEX Vermeil, Silver, Silver-Bronze, and Bronze medals are the same size but made of different metals.


Best Scandinavian  Exhibit at WESTPEX

Genuine Swedish Post Box

Polonus Grand Award
Polonus President's Award

PPPS Grand Award for Best Multi-Frame Exhibit of Poland or Polish Related  Material

PPPS President's Award for Best One-Frame Exhibit of Poland or Polish Related

Polonus Novice Award

PPPSĀ  Novice Award for a First Time Exhibitors exhibiting Poland or Polish  Related Material

Polonus Medal Award

PPPS Gold, Silver and Bronze Medals for all Multi and One-Frame  Exhibits

Eugene Garrett Award

Eugene Garrett Award

Best Philippines Exhibit


United Postal Stationery Society Marcus White Award for best postal stationery exhibit.

United Postal Stationery Society Single Frame Award

Collectors Club of Chicago Philatelic Exhibitor's Award

4 books published by the CCC

US Philatelic Classics Society Medal

Best U.S. exhibit up to 1894 by the United States Philatelic Classics Society



Outstanding Research and Investigation of Any Country

British Caribbean Philatelic Study Group

The American Philatelic Society provides Award of Excellence for 19th Century, 1900-1940, 1940-1980, and post-1980 exhibits.


The American Association of Philatelic Exhibitors provides three awards. One is for creativity (above).  Another is for presentation (upper right).  And the Title Page award (dome magnifier).


The American Philatelic Congress award for writeup.  The award is a Congress Book.


U.S. Stamp Society Statue of Freedom award for the best United States stamp exhibit from 1847 to the present.


50th Anniversary of the Summer of Love Award

by Haight Ashbury Philatelic Association

for Grooviest exhibit

American Revenue Association

O'Neill Award

Cross Pen and Pencil Set


India Study Circle Award is used to encourage interest in India's postal and philatelic history.

Sterling Achievement Award

Women Exhibitors

Nepal & Tibet Philatelic Study Circle

Best Nepal , Tibet or Himalayan Exhibit

Germany Philatelic Society

Gold, Silver, Bronze awards

ATA awards

Lighthouse Stamp Society Award for Best Exhibit with Any Nautical Theme



U.S. Cancellation Club

CZSG Silver Exhibitor's Medal

Professional Stamp  Experts It's Not Just Stamps Award

Canal Zone Study Group silver medal